Murphy’s law and an ombre pink triple-layer Red Velvet mini cake with Cream Cheese frosting

You know when you wait all week to decorate a cake? And you build it up in your head – it’s going to be this amazingly beautiful cake, with ruffles, and fondant toppers, and maybe a surprise inside…

And then, like, it all goes to shit? (Pardon my French.)

I just had one of those days. I am bloody exhausted.

It’s my grandma’s birthday tomorrow and I was planning to make a pretty ombre ruffle cake. Straightforward enough eh?

*DSC_0105

I stacked and crumbcoated my cake mid-week. I’d bought a petal frosting tip a while ago which had just been sitting in the cupboard, so I was excited to finally try my hand at the ruffle technique. My ombre colours were looking pretty, and look, I even scored the cake like the tutorials teach you to.

*DSC_0197

*DSC_0168

Then it all went wrong.

It turns out that Wilton’s 104 tip is tiny. So tiny that my piping bag broke as I tried to squeeze the frosting out. The ruffles I managed to pipe were tiny and broken. Sigh. So much for a ruffle cake.

But that’s OK. Shit happens. To Plan B I turned – the ombre cake.

Then I realised my frosting was really, freaking stiff. I’d deliberately been tightfisted with the milk because I read that the frosting had to be firm to hold its shape in ruffles, but this frosting was actually like cement. What a face palm moment.

I had to rebeat my frosting, separately obviously, since I’d already mixed in the colouring. And of course I put too much milk in, so I had to go back and beat more icing sugar in.

By this point I was feeling pretty defeated. But I took a deep breath and prodded myself on, giving the cake a fresh coat of cream cheese frosting before the ombre buttercream layers went on.

*DSC_0147

And surprisingly, it worked out. I also realised that the reason my frosting is never smooth is that it is too stiff. The frosting with what I thought was too much milk turned out to be great for a smooth finish. This is definitely the smoothest cake I’ve buttercreamed – still a long way to go to a perfect finish, especially the top, but hey, silver lining!

*DSC_0220

*DSC_0221

I dressed the cake up in a sprinkles halo, and decided to make a little 3D fondant heart topper to put on top. I took photos while I was making it, so I might put up a mini tutorial on it later!

*DSC_0228

What a day. Stressful as it was, I’m pretty happy with the way it all turned out. But seriously, I’m going back to cupcakes for now, no more cakes for a while.

Leave a Reply

